25 yearsResearch and knowledge at the heart of development

Skip to content Register Log in

Network countries

Sustainability is a key focus of our work and ensuring developing countries have access to the research knowledge and information they need is a vital part of this. With over 70 countries listed as network countries, the level at which we can work varies. However, all of our network countries stand to benefit from access to training materials, publications, and a list of free and open access resources. And there may be opportunities to take part in regional activities. Those network countries with country coordination teams in place may benefit from INASP-negotiated free subscriptions to e-resources. For more information on country coordination teams and how to get one, visit the ‘How we work’ page.

Network country eligibility

INASP uses a combination of the United Nations Human Development Index (HDI) and the World Bank Gross National Income (GNI), as follows, to make decisions on the eligibility of countries.


 Human Development Index
World Bank LowMedium High 
Low Income √ √ √
Lower Middle Income √ √ *
Upper Middle Income √ * X


√   Countries eligible for INASP support
X   Countries not eligible for INASP support
*   To be reviewed on a case-by-case basis

As and when capacity allows, network countries may transition to partner countries. Decisions are based on an understanding and assessment of key background information

Our Network Countries

Network countries with a Registration Coordinator


  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Congo (Brazzaville)
  • Congo, Dem. Rep.
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Madagascar
  • Mali
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • Swaziland
  • Togo
  • Tunisia

Asia and Eastern Europe

  • Armenia
  • Bhutan
  • Georgia
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • Mongolia
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Tajikistan
  • Thailand
  • Uzbekistan
  • West Bank and Gaza (Palestine
  • Yemen

Asia Pacific

  • Kiribati
  • Marshall Islands
  • Philippines
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Vanuatu

Where we work